Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) refers to accommodation for National Disability Scheme (NDIS) participants who require specialist housing solutions that cater for their significant functional impairment and/or very high support needs.

SDA does not refer to support services, but the homes in which these are delivered.

SDA may include special designs for people with very high needs or may have a location or features that make it feasible to provide complex or costly support services.

SDA Funding is designed to support 28,000 NDIS participants with unique housing needs (12,000 more than the current system supports) including people:

Who require a specialist built form:

  • Significant physical limitations or those with significant sensory, psychosocial or cognitive impairment (ABI).

With high support needs:

  • Requiring 1:1 or more support for long periods; unable to respond to safety risks; those with challenging behaviours.

For example:

  • Spinal cord injury (SCI)
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Stroke
  • Intellectual disability (ID) with limited mobility
  • Global developmental delay
  • Acquired Brain Injury (ABI) with limited mobility
  • Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD)
  • Psychosocial conditions which may have physical sequelae due to long term medication use, such as schizophrenia.

People with an intellectual disability alone are unlikely to qualify for SDA Payments.

To qualify for Independent Living Villages

  • Your individual plan must be approved by NDIS;
  • You are eligible for the SDA payment at Fully Accessible Level or higher;
  • You want to work with Independent Living Villages to codesign your new home; and
  • You want to secure a comfortable, secure (for life) and affordable home.